11 Chakras of Man – The Basic Chakra

Getting to the Root of Things

You may have heard about chakras but have you ever thought why we need chakras and what is their functions. The knowledge of chakras has been shown to man from long back as evidences show their appearance in old Indian scriptures and ancient books.

Chakras are whirling energy centers in the subtle body and are parts of the subtle body, which is also known as the energy body,  bioplasmic body or aura. Chakras are the meeting points of the subtle energy channels. Life force or “prana” moves through these subtle channels. Various scriptural texts and teachings present a different number of chakras and often describe them in a symbolical manner. There are many chakras in the subtle human body. According to Master Choa Kok Sui’s Pranic Healing, there exist 11 major chakras in our system including:

  1. Basic Chakra
  2. Sex Chakra
  3. Navel Chakra
  4. Meng Mein Chakra
  5. Spleen Chakra
  6. Solar Plexus Chakra
  7. Heart Chakra
  8. Throat Chakra
  9. Ajna Chakra
  10. Forehead Chakra
  11. Crown Chakra

“Chakras or whirling energy centers are very important parts of the energy body…Major chakras are just like power stations that supply life energy to major and vital organs.”

Master Choa Kok Sui

The chakras have several important functions – physical, emotional, mental and spiritual:

  1. They absorb and distribute prana or life energy to different parts of the body
  2. They are responsible for the proper functioning of the whole physical body and its different parts and organs
  3. Some chakras are centers of psychic faculties. Activation of certain chakras may result in the development of certain psychic faculties.

This series of articles aims at introducing the 11 major chakras and their functions, starting with the Basic chakra and ending with the Crown chakra.

After gaining a general knowledge about the chakras and their functions, let’s now discuss the Basic Chakra – its role in developing us, and what it is like in a developed person.

The Basic Chakra

Located at the base of the spine, the Basic Chakra has four petals and is a fiery orange-red in color. Symbolically, it is often represented by The Cross.

Interestingly, the color of this chakra has a similarity with the color of the prana or vitality stream that is flowing into it. Therefore, the Basic Chakra has predominantly orange and red prana flowing into it. It also has a minor amount of yellow color inside. Additionally, there is also dark purple prana flowing in from the spleen chakra. The spleen chakra  will be the subject of the future articles.

Once the orange-red prana enters the Basic Chakra, it starts flowing to the reproductive organs, enhancing the sexual nature. It also enters the blood and keeps up the heat of the body. Health wise, it is responsible for the healthy functioning of the skeletal system, sexual organs and the heart. Thus, it becomes evident that the Basic Chakra has a tremendous effect on the overall vitality and growth rate of a person. Materially this chakra is responsible for prosperity.

A remarkable effect is seen in the Basic Chakra of a person who controls his lower nature. By maintaining pure thoughts, words and actions, the orange life energy moves upwards through the spinal column and enters the brain. This improves the intellectual faculties and makes a person more intelligent and perceptive. Similarly, the dark red life energy changes to crimson, which stimulates affection. The dark violet energy transmutes into pale violet, which stimulates spirituality.

Therefore, the Basic Chakra has a transformative effect on a person who strives towards self-improvement, resulting in more intelligence, refined emotions and a greater spiritual nature.

Energy circulations in the Base of the Spine of a developed person is shown as below:

Πηγή: www.pranaworld.net